top of page
Search

Anime - Fate:The Winx Saga 🧚

The Winx Club was one of my favorite series growing up. It is actually an Italy Anime with tons of transformations and sparkles (ideal for the magical girl obsession or yours truly).


I love it so much I decided to rewatch it as an adult and realized there was some very problematic white-washing going on but at the end of the day, it was old news.


Until I found the new World of Winx series by Netflix. One season of deconstructed mess. The characters had no depth anymore and barely had a storyline or villain to handle. It was tri-dash trash 🤢.


In true Netflix fashion, they came back with a live-action series! People knew it would only make things worse but again if you are a fan of a series, like a moth to a flame, you must watch it to satisfy your curiosity.


So I did just that.




I was able to immediately recognize some characters but, what I noticed first was WHERE IS FLORA AND TECNA? Flora - Our sweet, flower princess, pink and green queen (whom I found out was based on JLo). Tecna - the witty, technology fairy that doesn't completely understand emotions. Flora was replaced by Terra who played the sweet pale plus-sized girl who finally gets mad at her bullies only to befriend them and get mad at her dad for lying to her face. Tecna was just eliminated altogether. Yay 🙄




Second, Ayesha's wig. Who did those edges? Tell me who because we need to have a little talk. They could have at least made it human hair. The styles we

re decent but those edges took my attention from the actress and that makes me mad.


Also, why did she have to be the brown-noser? I get being the one to do the right thing but, Bloom is not your problem.


That leads me to Bloom. Freaking Bloom. The lack of responsibility and impulsiveness in the live-action makes her no longer worthy of being a leader. I no longer want to be friends with her, I want to put her in timeout and give her a better outfit. Her actions literally get people killed and she continues to do it anyway.


The nerve the effects team had to finally give her wings but keep her in that basis outfit is also a crime. What is the point of a transformation sequence with no transformation!


Lastly, but not least r.i.p to our favorite music fairy, that is now a mind fairy with no attack power! She wants to fight but, can't? How does that work since the headmaster also seems to have mental abilities and can fight just fine. Not only that she is not our cultural Chinese beauty would mix her love for hip-hop and her ancestry together for use to love.


I am not pleased. You turned my show into a nightmare figuratively and literally. Next season you better come correct.





22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy New Year

Hey Hey, it's 2022. Per usual, I have been away far too long but, I have been living a lot of life. 2021 brought a new state, new job,...

Yorumlar


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page