top of page
Search

Anime - March Comes in Like A Lion

You know when you are running through Netflix for your next binge content and you run past something over and over that catches your eye and you finally go "eh, why not". March Comes in Like a Lion was the show for me.


Time and time again I would scroll past this show thinking that the art would interest me. The show itself covers such a different subject than most, shogi. A game meant for the elderly as they say that a child learned and exceeded into the point he was a professional before high school.


Rei lives on his own has no friends and no real family. The jumping back and forth in the storyline reminds me of Devilman Crybaby, which was not my cup of tea, but I trailed on. Trailing on meant hearing of the standard tragic past of the main character, the bullying he faced, and how he eliminated himself from most situations with shogi. His entrance back into reality was the Kawamoto sisters and his "best friend" Nikaidou.


Both are instrumental in Rei realizing both this will to live and continue to win the game.


There were sometimes I got worried this would get dark but, it seemed to hint towards romance in the second season. I hope we get a third season but, more geared toward how he uses shogi to help people versus persuing the middle sister Hina. It will change the magical family dynamic.


If you are interested in learning about shogi, honestly it seems really complicated to understand even with cute kitten analogies but, it is worth the work. Feel free to let me know your thoughts!




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy New Year

Hey Hey, it's 2022. Per usual, I have been away far too long but, I have been living a lot of life. 2021 brought a new state, new job,...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page