top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJay Hey Hey

Anime - Maria Holic - The Yuri Gintama?!?!

So I have a subscription to Hivedive - exclusive anime streaming service and have an obsession with harem anime (I know, I know). In my search for new content, I came across Maria Holic. It follows the main characters Mariya and Kanako, Mariya being a cross-dresser found out by Kanako (a closet perv and lesbian) the day before the first day of school. Kanako falls in love with Mariya adorable face, but later finds out how much of a douchebag she is.


Maria Holic like Gintama loves to break the fourth wall fully understanding that they are indeed the main characters with random obsessions with seafood. Don't get me wrong Gintama is on another level with clever innuendos and Grade A anime and pop culture references.


I would give this show about a 3 out of 5. There is no serious character development or scoring going on (if you know what I mean) so don't go chasing waterfalls. However, I must note, Nanami Kiri's character seems to have Asperger's attributes which I find refreshing and endearing. If you are looking for quirky, corny, excessive nosebleeding this is the show for you. If you don't like it though don't yourself up. It is definitely not for everyone.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy New Year

Hey Hey, it's 2022. Per usual, I have been away far too long but, I have been living a lot of life. 2021 brought a new state, new job,...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page