top of page
Search

Food - Birria Tacos - Happy Taco Feliz

For months now I've been searching for Birria Tacos. Birria tacos have a consomme similar to the Mexican equivalent of au jus and pairs beautifully with crispy dipped tacos. The meat is slow-cooked for hours to beyond fork tender. With fresh cilantro and onion, it is the perfect medley on texture. Happy Taco Feliz is a food truck located at the very end of Main Street near the airport. I live in the complete opposite direction so to say this was a trek is an understatement. This is the permanent location for the truck and it seems this special is only available once a month.


Let me start by saying the meat was the star of the show, smooth, and ready to be dipped. The taco shells were a reddish color in comparison to their standard tacos, they are dipped and warms by the consomme and grill before being plated. I think the issue, in this case, was the tortillas were not placed on the stove long enough to brown the tortillas locking in the consomme flavor without leaving the tortillas soggy and crumbling at the weight of the meat.


Overall the flavor was there, but I prefer their al pastor tacos over the hype of Birria tacos. I will leave it up to your personal opinion to try it out.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy New Year

Hey Hey, it's 2022. Per usual, I have been away far too long but, I have been living a lot of life. 2021 brought a new state, new job,...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page