top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJay Hey Hey

Food - Maple Tree Inn - A Louisiana Twist on the South Side

While home visiting family and wedding things, I had the opportunity to try Maple Tree Inn in Homewood, IL. I never heard of the place until that day and as I Copeland's junkie through and through they had high expectations to uphold.


After many delicious appetizers including Pork Belly Cracklin, which has an unreal amount of crunch and tenderness simultaneously, I decided on the Blacked Refish Etoufee. It was the best of both worlds with having the Red Snapper topped with their signature crawfish Etoufee. The rue was a caramel brown - crawfish and snapper moist with beautifully fresh green beans. The green beans were necessary to cut through the richness of the sauce, allowing you to eat more than without.


It has been a while since I had a dish I felt was well-thought-out. This was the dish. I was not able to finish it all do to not having room after the appetizers but, the leftovers even heated up well the next day. I lost nothing in the structure of the meal.


Now, I will warn and have been told by my family that Maple Tree Inn should only be consumed in person versus takeout. The quality drastically changes between the two. Take that for what you will, but I will be happy to try something new the next time I am in town.


Be sure to stay tuned for the Texas series coming up!


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy New Year

Hey Hey, it's 2022. Per usual, I have been away far too long but, I have been living a lot of life. 2021 brought a new state, new job,...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page