top of page
Search

Life - Happy Birthday Granny

Today would have been your 90th Birthday. I always appreciated your sense of humor in your later years.


Granny was a cook by profession and was able to tear up the kitchen at home daily. I literally don't understand how with a little terror like yours truly running around either half-naked, destroying something, or creating my own Dexter's Laboratory out of all the hair products in our one full bathroom.


You made sure I was an early bird. As the Mother of the Church, you were up at 4 am and I up at 5 starting at the age of 5, because every day seemed to prepare for the upcoming Sunday.


Getting the vanilla wafers and Welch's grape juice for Communion, running to the dry cleaners to press you and granddaddy's suit to perfection, or preparing for bible study for the week. I was always sleepy and hungry while you were on a mission.


Don't get me wrong you got sleepy too. If I had a picture for every time I ran into your room to ask you a question and you were sitting in your chair answering me without ever opening your eyes, it was like magic, to say the least. Especially now more than ever since I can barely keep my apartment clean, cook, and listen to my future husband without feeling like I need a drink.


You and granddaddy would argue our the simplest things including literally the time on the wall. I will never forget the 45-minute argument that took place in front of me over the clock. I almost passed out holding in the laughs that would have gotten me a spanking from the sheer hilarity of it all.


It wasn't until now, I know how hard is it to live without someone you love. Losing your soulmate of 60 years almost 10 years earlier to your time must have been hard. I knew when you ripped your aorta a few years after the internalized pain you felt being there for everyone else literally broke your heart.


I can see now how such a thing could happen...


You stayed for us, knowing that we needed you a little longer even when you lost your baby girl, your protector, and caretaker. Auntie would have collapsed without you there to make her smile.


Your humor during those last few years carried us through the pain that you could no longer verbalize, the sadness that we could not bear alone, and the strength that only you always had.


Happy 90th Birthday Granny. I know mom and granddaddy are celebrating with you now all together again.


I love you.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy New Year

Hey Hey, it's 2022. Per usual, I have been away far too long but, I have been living a lot of life. 2021 brought a new state, new job,...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page