top of page
Search

Life - Remember You

You retired the day I was born from Ingalls Hospital in Harvey. By the time I was 5 years old, you woke me up at 5 am because it didn't need to sleep anymore. You cooked THE BEST chicken and everything else from scratch at the drop of a hat. Every Sunday you would take me to Aldi with you after the 7:45 am service and I could "get a lil somethin". You were the mother of an entire church, leader for Communion, a Sunday school teacher, Harvest Tea Coordinator, and most of all Matriarch of my family. You stepped up to the plate to become a second mom when my mom was too tired. Dealing with my first period, puberty, and attitude. I was clumsy, hard-headed, and always in "grown-folks business".


You were there to wipe tears when I was hurt, feed my spirit with the Word of God, and as you got older a smile that lights up a room. We definitely had our ups and downs, but with Mommy gone, you were the last person that lived with me, had stories of me in that house that built so many strong people.


You and granddaddy would argue over the time on the clock, but you loved him up until the final moment. I knew it hurt you even more than me when he passed away. He was a piece of your heart for 60 years. When your heart literally broke and you coded on the table, I thought I lost you too. You knew Mommy and Auntie needed you still, but losing your baby girl and not being able to express your pain hurt so much more.


The day you asked me who got shot, I held everything back to tell you without you understanding so you didn't have to hurt like me. I cried and cried, but you knew your baby that never left your side was suddenly gone and can't come back. It caused you to decrease even more, but you persevered and stay with us for another year and a half because Auntie needed more now than ever.


You smiled, shook your booty, and thanked us for taking care of you. I hope you know how much I love you. I know my mom and Grandpa were so happy to see you again.


I love you Granny and I thank you for everything.



147 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy New Year

Hey Hey, it's 2022. Per usual, I have been away far too long but, I have been living a lot of life. 2021 brought a new state, new job,...

2 Comments


Jay Hey Hey
Jay Hey Hey
Aug 27, 2020

Thank you Dee

Like

deenoelclayton
Aug 27, 2020

Beautifully done cousin!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page