top of page
Search

Love - Being There During Hard Times

My fiance and I have been through a lot in the past two years. This year alone we have both lost a grandparent. You wonder "how can I help you through this?". If you are like me, you may have an introverted partner who self-internalizes their feelings to maintain the emotionless exterior that was ingrained into them as a child.


Relationships are about flexibility and compromise. We are working on the best way to be there for each other daily. It took me years to understand, for him, I just needed to be there. I needed to be present physically to listen, wait, hold, and hug when needed. As someone who vocalizes everything (#Cancerqueen), I wear my heart on my sleeve while he has been the shield to protect it from harm for so long. It is my turn, not to be a shield, but to become a healer, treating the callused scars from pre-existing emotional wounds I never knew or understood.


Allow your partner to feel the things they need to. Be there during the hard times by listening, assisting, and reassuring that there is always someone in their corner. Over time you will see how much those moments mean more than the big showy gestures of love.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy New Year

Hey Hey, it's 2022. Per usual, I have been away far too long but, I have been living a lot of life. 2021 brought a new state, new job,...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page