top of page
Search

Love - 16 Years in the Making

Updated: Jul 3, 2020

The year was 2004 when I transferred to a small Catholic school right outside of the south side of Chicago. I came in at a 1st-grade reading level going into 4th grade after just the year before going through four teachers in a single year. Needless to say, I was struggling with the transition. Little did I know in this school of fewer than 100 students that in the next classroom would be the then boy, now man, I am about to marry almost 16 years later. He is a quiet kid that runs in the same circle as my friends at the time, his dad is the basketball coach so I see him around when it's time to present awards for sports at the end of the year. We wouldn't speak a word to each other until 2007 at him and his best friend's graduation party.


I know of him, you know of everyone in a school of 100 especially when only 10 percent of students are black at that time. He asks for my number and the rest of history right? NOPE, negative ghost-rider. We hang out a few times, we both are so nervous and incompatible a hug is like pulling teeth. I talk too much, he doesn't talk at all. There is no way this will work out. We call it quits until a higher power brings us together to represent the United State of America overseas as student ambassadors.


He is taller now, playing basketball does wonder for the body. I'm intrigued however, he has his eyes elsewhere... I realize over the course of 2 weeks and 5 countries that I don't want him to have eyes for anyone else. 14-year-old Jay knew she what she wanted. Apparently, I made an impression on him as well.


February 14th, 2010, I get a text from him out of the blue asking what I got him for Valentine's Day while I am out to dinner with my mom. I say nothing and he says "t

hat's too bad because I got you something...". I'm confused at this point and he asks to bring it over, the next day, he shows up at my front door with flowers and an invitation asking me to go to Junior Prom with him. It's that Junior Prom May 8th, 2010 that planted the seed of love, heartbreak, and eventually happiness that we have today.


Comment below if you would love to read more!

10 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Happy New Year

Hey Hey, it's 2022. Per usual, I have been away far too long but, I have been living a lot of life. 2021 brought a new state, new job,...

1 Comment


deenoelclayton
Aug 18, 2020

Awww 😍

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page